:::

The History Department runs a "writing workshop" to make students no longer afraid to write.

  • 2018-12-03

Writing is not only a skill developed to face schoolwork or reporting, it is the most basic communication and expression ability of human beings. In view of cultivating students' writing ability, the History Department of Foguang University recently held a two-day "writing workshop", which was organized by Wang Shujin, Wen Yuwen and Han Chenghua. Participants include delegates form the Institute of Modern History of the Academia Sinica, the Institute of Taiwan History, the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences of Tokyo University, the National Archives Administration, the Hongyan Writing Classroom, the Songshan High School, and the Tamsui Business and Industry School. 


The Writing Workshop has four keynote speeches and two hands-on sessions that cover basic writing skills, historical writing strategies, and multi-transformation applications. In the first day of the course, Mr. Hong Junyan, the founder of "Hongyan Writing Classroom", has rich experience in teaching. He especially raised his myths about Taiwan's social writing teaching. He also shared his new thinking on literacy education. How to change from "reading" into "writing", improve writing ability. Dr. Chen Youshen, from the Institute of Modern History of the Academia Sinica, shared his experience in writing and reviewing students' projects with writing methods of research project, and shared writing and implementation steps of research project.


The next day, "Story: History for All", the founder of the online story platform, Mr. Chen Jianshou, is also an assistant researcher at the Institute of Modern History of the Academia Sinica. With history of the Internet age, he share his experiences in the foundation of literal historical new media, and encourages everyone to apply their learning skills to all applicable areas. The researcher of the National Archives Administration, Mr. Chen Yixing, introduced the boring historical archives to the students with the theme of “How to be a farmer in the 1970s.” How to read the story and tell the story in a lively way, there will be help with the ability to curate and guide in the future.

 
At the same time, through micro-thematic practical exercises, the workshop also enables scholars and students to conduct group discussions and practical exercises to enhance students' ability to write and tell stories. "Study Solitaire" is used to train students to integrate information from scattered materials and write the short essays with contextual structure. "Promoting history writing attempt" is to enable students to rewrite academic essays into popular literary works, and learn how to handle specific perspectives with the ability to rewrite existing materials. Under the guidance of scholars, some students have rewritten two academic papers discussing "angelica" into an advertising copy with "home" as the core; some groups have written short stories to share historical materials of modern newspapers and prints; a group has reorganized Coca-Cola's historical stories in Taiwan from the perspective of "cold knowledge."


In the two-day writing workshop, participating students' writing achievements have made remarkable progress. The Department of History of Foguang University expects to attract the interest of young students by combining keynote speeches, micro-exploration and practical courses, and make them no more fear and hate writing. The Department of History of Foguang University welcomes students who are disgusted with writing to sign up and become a writer! (20181203)

This is an image

This is an image

This is an image

Teacher Chen Youshen spoke about the essentials and writing of the research project.

This is an image
Teacher Hong Junyan shared the new thinking of literacy education and the method of improving self-writing ability.

This is an image
Teacher Chen Yixing introduced the boring historical archives to the students, how to read the story and tell the story.

This is an image
Teacher Chen Jianshou shares the history of the Internet generation, how to tell a good story

This is an image
Student questioning

This is an image
Student questioning

This is an image

This is an image
The mini-thematic implementation class allows scholars and students to conduct group discussions and practical exercises to enhance students' ability to write and tell stories.

This is an image

This is an image

This is an image

佛光大学

:::

佛大历史系办「写作工作坊」 让学生不再恐惧写作这件小事

  • 2018-12-03
  • 佛光大学 祕书室

  (佛光大学/报导)写作不单只是为了面对学校作业或报告而培养的技能,它是人类最基本的沟通与表达能力。有鑑于培养学生写作能力,佛光大学历史系日前举办为期两天的「写作工作坊」,此活动由王舒津、温桢文与韩承桦老师筹画,特别邀请中央研究院近代史研究所、台湾史研究所、东京大学人文社会系研究科、国家档案管理局、鸿雁写作教室、松山高中社会科与淡水商工历史科的老师,诸位专家学者参与活动。


  「写作工作坊」共有四场主题演讲与两次实作课程,触及基础写作能力、史学写作策略和多元转化应用。首日课程里,「鸿雁写作教室」创办人洪俊彦老师,拥有丰富讲学经验的他,特别提出对台湾社会写作教学的迷思,也分享自身对读写教育的新思维,如何从「读」转入「写」,提升自我书写能力的诀窍。「中研院近代史研究所」陈佑慎博士以研究计画的要领与写作方式,分享他写作和批阅学生计画的经验,并分享研究计画的写作诀窍及实作步骤。


  次日,「故事:写给所有人的历史」网络故事平台创办人─陈建守老师,同时也是「中央研究院近代史研究所」助理研究员,他以网络世代的历史学,分享自身创办文史知识类型新媒体的经验,鼓励大家将学习技能,运用于各方可应用处。国家档案管理局研究员─陈怡行老师则以「如何在1970年代当一个有为农青」为主题,向学生介绍枯燥乏味的历史档案素材,该如何看档案说故事,以活泼的方式讲授,将有助于日后在策展及导览的能力。

 
  工作坊同时也透过微型的专题实作课,让学者与学生进行小组讨论与实际操作,加强学生的写作说故事能力。以「故事接龙」培养学生从分散的材料整合资讯,撰写出具有脉络结构的短篇文类之能力;「普及历史书写尝试」则是让学生将学术论文改写为普及文类,学习如何拿捏特定视角观点,并能重新书写既有素材的能力。在学者的指导下,有学生将两篇讨论「当归」的学术论文,改写成以「家」为核心的广告文案;有小组将「缠足」相关的论文,以新闻专题稿件撰写;亦有把谈论近代报刊、印刷影响的历史素材,以短篇小说分享;更有小组以「冷知识」的角度,重组可口可乐在台湾的历史故事。


  为期两天的写作工作坊里,可以看见学生的写作成果有显着的进步,佛光大学历史系期待透过结合主题演讲、微型的探究和实作课程,希望能引起青年学子的兴趣,让他们不再害怕、厌恶「书写这件事」。佛光大学历史系欢迎对写作反感的学生踊跃报名参加,一同成为写作达人!(20181203)

This is an image

This is an image

This is an image

陈佑慎老师主讲研究计画的要领与写作。

This is an image
洪俊彦老师分享读写教育的新思维及提升自我书写能力的诀窍。

This is an image
陈怡行老师向学生介绍枯燥乏味的历史档案素材,该如何看档案说故事。

This is an image
陈建守老师分享网络世代的历史学,该如何说个好故事

This is an image
学生发问

This is an image
学生发问

This is an image


This is an image
微型的专题实作课,让学者与学生进行小组讨论与实际操作,加强学生的写作说故事能力。

This is an image

This is an image

This is an image