:::

President Yang Chaoxiang of FoGuang University led a team to visit South Korea

  • 2019-04-16

On April 7th, President Yang Chaoxiang of Fo Guang University, Director Zhao Taishun of the Department of History, and Director Chen Tuoyu of the International Cooperation and Exchange Center of the International and Cross-Strait Affairs Office launched a six-day trip to Korea, visiting Hongfa Temple, Dongming University and Xinluo University in Busan, and Central Sangha University in Seoul.

On the first day of the visit to Hongfa Temple, President Yang Chaoxiang said that the abbot, Shenshan Master, handles Temple Stay (Temple and Cultural Experience) for students of Foguang University and Nanhua University every year. Through diverse activities and exchanges, Taiwanese and Korean students can get along with, learn from each other, cultivate friendship, and then light up the spark of wisdom and implement the spirit of international learning. President Yang Chaoxiang was very touched by the abbot's sincere welcome which is like a family-like enthusiasm. . President Yang Chaoxiang is also sincerely inviting the abbot to attend the coming 20th anniversary of Foguang University.
   
The next day, the group went to visit Dongming University. The purpose was to continue the cooperation between the two universities and to visit the three exchange students currently studying at Dongming University. Zheng Hongyu, the president of Dongming University, said that since the establishment of the sistership in 2014, the frequent exchange of students has not only reflected the deep friendship between the two universities, but also the embodiment of the friendly relations between the two countries. He hopes that through this continuing relationship, It will lay a good foundation for the joint training of schools between the two universities in the future. In addition to the warm reception of the president and staff of Dongming University, President Yang Chaoxiang expressed his sincere gratitude. He also mentioned that in addition to student exchanges, the exchanges and research cooperation between the two schools are also important goals for future development. He believe that the further exchanges between the two universities will be fruitful. Through the renewal of this visit, there will be closer and more diverse interactions in student and academic exchanges in the future.

On April 10th, the team visited the University of Silla, and the head of the International Exchange Department, led by the President Park Taisheh, warmly welcomed the representatives of Foguang University. President Yang Chaoxiang said that it was very glorious to come to Shilla University in addition to being the president of Foguang University and returning to his alma mater as an honorary doctor of the University of Silla. The president Park Taesheh also said that the University of Silla is very strict with the award of the honorary doctor. Up to now, there are only three foreigners awarded by the school, which shows the importance and respect of President Yang Chaoxiang. President Park also introduce the university's R&D Center of Drone Technology. He pointed out that the university has close cooperation with government and hopes that the two universities will have the opportunity to cooperate. At present, there is an exchange student from FoGuang University who is studying for one year at Silla University. The student took the Korean language class of Director Zhao Taishun. When he saw the teacher's visit, he was particularly touched. Director Zhao is particularly concerned about the students and reminds them to study in Korea. Participate in student activities, pay attention to safety in life, keep in touch with the teacher at any time, and especially encourage students to pass the language exam in Korea and cherish the exchange of learning opportunities.

On April 11th, the delegation of Foguang University visited the Central Sangha University in Seoul. The President, Master Yuan Zong, led the staff to warmly welcome the visitors. Master Yuanzong said that South Korea is currently experiencing an increasingly shortage of religious talents and monks due to the impact of minority births and the changing attitudes of the people towards religious beliefs. President Yang Chaoxiang also responded that Taiwan is currently facing the impact of declining birthrate. Both schools are universities founded by Buddhism. He hope that in the future, the exchange of Buddhist talents and the exchange of teaching research will be more frequent. Master Yuanzong said that there are currently more than 2,000 alumni of the Central Sangha University. Almost one-fifth of the nation's monks and nuns are the unversity's alumni who hold important positions, which shows that the school has spared no effort in cultivating talents. Master Yuanzong also arranged a library visit, and the library director introduced the classics of the collection and the history of Korean Buddhism to the visitors.

The exchange students visited by the team are very satisfied with the school's study and living environment. They all expressed that they will make good use of this learning opportunity and study Korean and professional courses. President Yang Chaoxiang also pointed out that the university will provide more teachers and students to go abroad in the future. 


This is an image
Master Dashan of Hongfa Temple received President Yang Chaoxiang of Foguang University 

This is an image

This is an image

President Park Taisheh of Silla University (right) and President Yang Chaoxiang of FoGuang University

This is an image
The President of the Central Sangha University, Master Yuan Zong warmly welcomed the delegation of Foguang University.


This is an image
Library tour at Central Sangha University

This is an image
President Zheng Hongjun of Dongming University and President Yang Chaoxiang of FoGuang University showed the singed MOU.

佛光大学

:::

佛大杨朝祥校长率队 访韩国

  • 2019-04-16
  • 佛光大学 祕书室
  (佛光大学国际处∕报导)于4月7日佛光大学杨朝祥校长偕同历史系赵太顺主任与国际暨两岸事务处国际合作与交流中心陈拓馀主任,展开为期六天的韩国行,分别拜访位于釜山的弘法寺、东明大学、新罗大学与首尔的中央僧伽大学。
 
  首日拜访弘法寺,杨朝祥校长表示,住持深山法师每年为佛光大学及南华大学两校学生办理Temple Stay(寺庙暨文化体验),借由多元的活动与交流,让台韩学生共同生活、相互学习、并培养情谊,进而擦出智慧的火花,落实国际化的学习精神。弘法寺深山住持诚心接待,如同欢迎家人般的热情,让杨朝祥校长一行人非常感动,校长更诚挚邀请深山住持参加佛光大学的二十周年校庆,见证佛光大学历史的一刻.
   
  次日,一行人到东明大学拜访交流,此行的目的,除了延续两校合作关系,并访视目前佛光大学在东明大学就读的三位交换生.东明大学校长郑弘燮表示,自2014年两校缔结姊妹校以来,学生往来频繁,不仅体现两校之间的深厚情谊,更是两国友好关系的体现,他希望通过此次延续合作的关系,能为今后两校之间的学校联合培养打下良好的基础。杨朝祥校长除了对东明大学校长及教职员的热情接待表示由衷感谢,也提到今后两校除了学生学习交流外,老师间的交流与研究合作也是往后发展的重要目标,相信两校的交流成果丰硕,透过此次的续约,未来在学生及学术交流上,会有更密切且多元的互动。
 
   4月10日,拜访新罗大学,由朴泰学校长率领国际交流部一同热情欢迎佛光大学一行代表.杨朝祥校长表示,来到新罗大学,除了是以佛光大学校长的身分外,同时也是以新罗大学荣誉博士的身分回来母校,感到非常的光荣.朴泰学校长也表示,新罗大学对于荣誉博士的颁发非常严谨,截至目前为止,学校颁发的外国人士也只有三位,足见新罗大学对杨校长的重视与尊敬.朴校长也借此机会,向佛光大学代表介绍新罗大学的无人机研发中心及技术,该校与政府单位合作密切,希望未来两校有机会能进行产学合作或研究发展.目前,本校有一位交换生正在新罗大学进行一年的交换学习,该生是赵太顺主任韩文课的学生,见到老师来访格外感动,赵主任特别关心学生,提醒在韩国学习时除了要多方涉猎,参与学生活动,生活方面也要注意安全,随时和老师保持联系,并特别鼓励学生在韩国通过语言检定,珍惜交换的学习机会.
 
   4月11日,佛光大学一行人前往位于首尔的中央僧伽大学,校长圆宗法师率领教职员热烈欢迎。圆宗法师表示,韩国目前由于少子化冲击,加上人民对于宗教信仰的观念转变,宗教方面的人才及出家众人数出现日益短缺的现象。杨朝祥校长也回应,台湾目前也面临少子化的冲击,两校皆为佛教创办的大学,希望未来对于佛教人才的培育与教学研究的交流,校际间的合作能更为频繁.圆宗法师说,目前中央僧伽大学毕业校友有二千多人,几乎韩国全国五分之一的僧众都是该校校友,并担任重要职位,足见学校对于人才的培育不遗馀力。圆宗法师也安排图书馆参访,由图书馆长向杨校长一行代表介绍馆藏经典及韩国佛教历史。
 
  此次访视的交流学生对于学校的学习、生活环境非常满意,纷纷表示将利用好这次学习的机会,努力学习韩文及专业课程,杨朝祥校长也希望学校今后能为老师及学生提供更多的出国访学机会,让更多的师生走出去学习和交流。

This is an image
弘法寺住持深山法师亲自接待佛光大学杨朝祥校长

This is an image

This is an image
新罗大学
朴泰学校长(右)与佛大杨朝祥校长合影

This is an image
中央僧伽大学校长圆宗法师率领教职员热烈欢迎佛光大学。

This is an image
中央僧伽大学校园导览

This is an image
东明大学是佛光大学友好姊妹校,该校校长郑弘燮亲自接待佛大杨朝祥校长